District News

1/31/2018 - Incoming Grades 10, 11, and 12 course registration for 2018-19

Dear Parent(s)/Guardian(s) of current 9th, 10th and 11th graders:

It is hard to believe, but Friday, January 26th was the last day of our first semester. With our new semester underway, it is now time to look forward to the course registration process for the 2018-2019 school year. As you may know, our course registration process occurs electronically using Power School. The purpose of this parent alert is to provide you direction on our electronic course registration process that will open on Wednesday, January 31, 2018 after 3 pm.

Both Canton High School and Middle School students have received a great deal of information about this process through communication with teachers, school counselors and administration and we are excited about the opportunity for families to be involved in this important process. If you have questions regarding specific courses and overall course options, please review Canton High Schools Program of Studies.

Registration Window:

Access for student registration will begin, January 31, 2018 at 3:00 and end on February 9, 2018 at 3:00 pm. This ten day window is purposeful as it affords families the opportunity to peruse the Program of Studies, review recommendations, discuss options and get any questions answered.  It is expected that all students will be registered by February 9, 2017.

Login Information: To register via the portal, you must Login using your child’s username and password at sis.cantonschools.org/public. Most students actively use this account and know their name and password. However, if there are issues with accessing the username & password, contact my administrative assistant, Donna Miscikoski, at Dmiscikoski@cantonschools.org or call at (860)-693-7707.

Directions and tutorials:

Questions:

With regard to questions or concerns about core academic courses our academic levels, please contact your student’s current academic teacher or department chair listed below. You are also encouraged to contact your student’s counselor with any questions or concerns throughout the process.

Department Chairs:

English:  Dr. Kidwell                        Rkidwell@cantonschools.org

Math:  Mrs. Aitchison                      Gaitchison@cantonschools.org

Science:  Mrs. Jorgensen                  Mjorgensen@cantonschoos.org

Social Studies: Ms. Mocarski           Nmocarski@cantonschools.org

World Language:  Ms. Subrizi          Vsubrizi@cantonschoos.org

School Counselors:

Deb Schwager                                  DSchwager@cantonschools.org

Jen Theodoratos                               JTheodoratos@cantonschoos.org

Mike Furey                                       MFurey@cantonschoos.org

Waiving of a recommendation:

If you disagree with a specific teacher recommendation and would like to “override” a teacher recommendation, students can access a “Request for Course Recommendation Override” form directly from their school counselor. It is important the student meets directly with their counselor to initiate this process. Override forms will be honored through Friday, February 23.

Please know that we stand ready to assist you in any as you work through the course registration process.

Drew DiPippo. CHS Principal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Incoming 9th graders