District News

10/20/2017 - Students Inducted into the Science National Honor Society

On October 12th eleven students joined their peers in the ranks of the Le Chat chapter of the Science National Honor Society during an evening ceremony in the Canton High School library.

SNHS at CHS was founded in 2015 by Carver Coleman and Mia Tuccillo with the intent of promoting science education in both the school and community. Inductees and their families heard from club advisors Ms. Ott and Mr. Riley, club officers, and guest speaker Tracy Scott Parry.

Ms. Parry is an Aerospace Engineer for United Technologies Corporation Aerospace Systems. Before working at UTC, she worked on many mechanical and aerospace engineering projects including the PAC missile and the International Space Station. Ms. Parry encouraged new members to ignore those who discourage others from pursuing their passions and to realize that reaching one’s dreams often requires unexpected paths. Her story was inspiring and engaging for all present, setting a strong note for the 2017-2018 SNHS year.

Following Ms. Parry’s speech, comments were made by the SNHS President Cole Marcuccio and Vice President Connor O’Brien before new members received certificates of membership and officially joined the ranks of SNHS. A list of new members is included below.

2017-2018 SNHS Inductees:

Michael Cavanaugh

Cole Glasgow

Lila Hunt

Diego Noriega

Aidan O'Donnell

Hannah O'Leary

Andy Obrzut

Sydney Perks

Morgan Vacca

Helena Winkler