District News

9/29/2016 - Mu Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony

On Wednesday, September 28, 2016 the founding members of Mu Alpha Theta were inducted.

Twenty seven of the twenty nine new members were in attendance at the ceremony which was held in the auditorium with a reception following in the library. Mu Alpha Theta is the new math honor society that is advised by Gabrielle Aitchison, Loreen Forastiere, and Jeff Aureli.

Officers were also sworn in at the ceremony: President Cole Marcuccio, Vice-President Evan Mingo, Secretary Jack Mansur and Treasurer Connor Treadwell.  Jon Celso, representing Travelers Insurance Company, was the featured speaker and he spoke about his path to his current position as well as all of the other interesting careers that are available to students with a math degree. 

One of the first activities Mu Alpha Theta has decided to do, is to provide  math tutoring on Monday afternoons from 2:30 until 3:15 in room 115, a day where all teachers are in meetings and thus not available for extra help. They will also begin offering help on Tuesday morning collaboration days.

Congratulations to everyone!